Relaxing Saturday

I love weekends.  I mean, REALLY love them.  I used to not have them.  That’s what happens when you work two jobs for six years.  So now that I have real weekends, I enjoy them.

I’ve found a routine that I’ve become rather addicted to.  I get up around 8 am, putter around for a bit, check email, facebook, etc.  Then I put a pot of water on to boil for tea.  Next, fresh Buttermilk Biscuits go into the oven.  Nearly every Saturday morning, and Sunday ones for that matter, for the last month, have been spent curled up of the sofa with a cup of brewed tea (this morning’s flavor was Orange) and fresh Buttermilk Biscuits with Goat Cheese and local Honey, watching Melissa Harris-Perry on MSNBC.

I think it’s a pretty good way to start the day.  *grin*

Saturday has also become the day I cook my meals for the work week.  And this time, I’ve got a new toy to play with!  A shiny new red (which Aunt Judy will love) Dutch Oven!  So, today’s experiment was Creamy Dutch Oven Chicken with Slow Cooker  Baked Potato Casserole.

My apartment smells really good right now!

So, I started with the potatoes.

Potato Cassrole

 

And tried to resist eating it long enough to put it on the plate with the chicken.

Admittedly, this doesn’t look as appetizing as I thought, but after reducing a little bit, it looked much better.

On the Stove

 

And the final product, on the new Corell my dad got me for Christmas.

Get In My Belly!

Okay…I can’t resist saying it.  “Get in my belly!”

This was sooooo good.  And did I mention that my apartment smells really good right now?

You’re hungry, aren’t you.  You want the recipes, don’t you?

Well…since you asked…

http://quick-dish.tablespoon.com/2012/12/16/slow-cooker-baked-potato-casserole/

http://www.tablespoon.com/recipes/creamy-dutch-oven-chicken-recipe/1/

 

And just for good measure, because I like MHP… http://melissaharrisperry.com/

Leave a Reply

