I only have two words for you…

Monkey.  Bread.

I really don’t need to say more, but I’m going to…I’m pretty sure EVERYBODY has this recipe, but it’s special to me because my parents would make it for the holidays.  I don’t remember the last time I had it.

And I’m pretty sure that last time mom and dad tried to make it, they let the dough rise too long and came into the kitchen to find it crawling down the side of the fridge.

Not happening this time.  *girn*

IMG_2533I’m pretty sure that this bundt pan belonged to my grandmother.  And if that’s the case, then it’s older than I am.

IMG_2534It’s well loved.

IMG_2535Fresh out of the oven!  It doesn’t look like much now…but just wait.  The hard part is next.

Turning it out of the pan.  This is where things would go wrong when I was a kid.  Inevitably, part of the bread would stick to pan and would have to be pried out with a crowbar.

Not today!!

IMG_2536I used a shit-ton of cooking spray and a basting brush to make sure it got into all of the ridges.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen Monkey Bread come out of the pan that easily before.

Add a bit of butter, and it’s breakfast for the next week!

http://www.rhodesbread.com/recipes/view/1613

A side note…I did not cover with foil for the last 15 min.  And I used enough cooking spray that I didn’t even need the knife to loosen it from the pan!

 

 

Leave a Reply

