Stuffs!!

I guess I can call this past weekend… Productively Lazy?  Yeah.  I’m gonna go with that.  Got nothing done on Saturday.

It was cold, windy, and rainy.  Hello?  April??  Where is my Spring?  Enough of the wintery weather already!!  I was far too lazy to do any real cooking, so I dug an old college staple out of the pantry…

Ramen!  But I made it look pretty!!

Lazy Ramen Day

Okay…so I just stuck some chopsticks in the bowl…but they’re pretty chopsticks!

…you really don’t want the recipe for this, do you?

And continuing the lazy theme…dessert was the last piece of Bread Pudding (from the last post), with a big pile of ice cream on top of it.  I will be making that again.  And again…and again…

Last of the Bread Pudding

Doesn’t it just look yummy?

Sunday was a bit more productive…but not by much.  I made bread, but I did it the lazy way.  In the bread maker.  I didn’t take photos of the loaves, but they turned out really good.  And for you bread maker owners out there…

Country White:  http://www.food.com/recipe/country-white-bread-or-dinner-rolls-bread-machine-71373

Cheesy Potato:  http://www.food.com/recipe/cheesy-potato-loaf-bread-machine-498890

Now today on the other hand…I was feeling very productive!  I made shrooms.  And pie.  Because pie is good.

Mushrooms are growing on me.  Especially cooked ones.  I’ll eat them raw like they’re candy.  But cooked…I’m iffy on them.  Once they get slimy…no thank you.

Perfect Sautéed Mushrooms

Perfect Sautéed Mushrooms.  I was very pleased with how they turned out.  There was a bit more sauce then I would have liked, so next time, I’ll probably omit the butter.

http://www.spendwithpennies.com/garli-mushrooms/

And for dessert…Chocolate Truffle Pie.  Now, you have to understand something about me and pie.  I love it.  I mean…REALLY love it.  Well, eating it.  As for making it…that scares the shit out of me.  I’ve wanted to try for a while, but never really did, until now.  I cheated and used a store bought crust, and most likely will for a very long time.  This recipe though, looked very simple.  So simple that a pie-baking-novice like me couldn’t even screw it up.  And I didn’t!

The pie!

Chocolate Truffle Pie

My apartment smelled AMAZING!  It still smells amazing!  And if you think this picture looks nice, take a look at this one…

Pie with Vanilla

Stephanie…you need to make this pie.  Now.

For my first attempt at baking pie, I’m very proud of myself.  It’s chocolate.  How do you think it tasted?  A-freaking-mazing!  I think the next time I have a piece, I’ll put some the Caramel Sauce I made last week on top of it.  Can you say sugar coma?

http://cookiesandcups.com/chocolate-truffle-pie/

A note here.  I’m out of foil, so I didn’t put a strip of it around the edge of the crust to keep it from browning too much.  And it turns out that I didn’t even need it anyway.  The crust came out perfect!

One more thing I want to mention.  May is ALS Awareness Month.  As most of you know, this blog is dedicated to my Mother, whom was taken from us far too soon by this disease.  Please, take a few moments to learn about ALS, and what you can do to help those who suffer from it, and help their families.  http://webkwc.alsa.org/site/PageServer?pagename=KWC_homepage

So…go be productive.  Go make pie!  Go make Chocolate Truffle Pie, and be happy!

Leave a Reply

