Mother Road Marathon!

Oh, I hurt…I really, really hurt.  But probably not as much as the runners in the Mother Road Marathon today.  I’ve decided that you’ve gotta be a certain kind of awesome to run a half marathon, let alone a full marathon.

This morning was the 4th running of the Mother Road Marathon on Route 66.  It’s the only marathon to run through three states:  Oklahoma, Kansas, and Missouri.  It passes through 6 cities, starting in Commerce, OK, and finishing in Joplin, MO.  KOAM was out today, running a hydration station at mile 19.  Halfway between Riverton, KS and Galena, KS.

Right at the top of Heart Attack Hill.  I mean it.  That’s what we call it.   It’s one of those hills that when a the runners come up to it, they go “Holy shit, I’ve got to run up that??”  And when they get to the top of it, there we are with music, water, and Gatorade.  One lady did a cart wheel when she got to the top today.  I’m surprised she had the energy.

Thankfully, no one has ever had a heart attack running up Heart Attack Hill…but there’s another reason we gave it that name…

IMG_2827 IMG_2828Yes.  you are seeing that right.  That’s our tent, set up next to a cemetery.

IMG_2815We work the graveyard shift!

I love old cemeteries.  I can imagine so many stories accompanying those beaten up headstones.

 

Well, congrats to all the insanely awesome people who ran in the marathon today!!  Maybe one of these years I’ll be running it with you…

Ow.  I hurt just thinking about it.

For more information about the Mother Road Marathon, visit:  http://www.runmrm.com/

2 thoughts on “Mother Road Marathon!

  1. Linnie Waldrup’s marker just tugs at me. Thanks for sharing these photos.

  2. Same here. I don’t know what it is about it, but I feel like there’s a story there.

Leave a Reply

