The Dreamlifter Oops

So…someone made a HUGE mistake last night.  And when I say huge, I am not kidding.  Let me explain.

Wichita has three airports.  Mid-Continent Airport, McConnell Air Force Base, and Jabara Airport.  There are certain planes that shouldn’t land at the two smaller airports (Mid-Continent and Jabara)…

Like a Boeing DreamLifter.  It’s a modified Dreamliner, and it freaking huge.  It needs a 9,000 ft runway to take off.   Jabara is only 6,100 ft long.

The pilots were trying to land at the Air Force Base but somehow ended up at Jabara.  Oops.

Here’s the whole story:  http://www.kwch.com/news/local-news/boeing-dreamlifter-lands-at-jabara/-/21054266/23081256/-/oma90hz/-/index.html

So this morning, I went over to Wichita to see if I could get some pictures.

And this afternoon, and I was headed out of ICT, I braved the traffic, and the cold, windy, rainy winter weather to see it take off.

 

Leave a Reply

